More posts….first on the market

So Ive decided to post more on this a here internet web machine. These wont be polished, I wont go back and add the ‘ in wont for example. But more quick snippits of whats going on in the forageSF world.

1. So. The 4th Underground Market is done. It was a great time, even though I have felt better (not feeling so great that day). It was the first time Ive used a legitimate events space for anything Ive ever done. Its always been warehouses of friends, peoples backyards etc..but with people waiting so long to get into the march market, I figured I owed it to all of you to pony up some cash for a bigger space. It was MUCH bigger, although people still ended up waiting.

There are all these little things that come along with using a real space that I would have never imagined (maybe if Id actually read the policies beforehand I would have figured it out, but reading policies is not my strong suit). For example, $300 charge for trash sorting! $300! I agree that trash should be sorted, but I guess I though people would do it themselves.

Overall it was a great time in a great space. We had 70 (70!) vendors this time, which may have been a few too many for the space, but I think everyone had a good time. I think its great that so many people are interested in showing up for these kinds of events. Supporting the local/alternative economy, rather than throwing their money into the wind (read: corporations), never to be seen again, they choose instead to give it to their neighbors, and in doing so, get to help them succeed. Good times.

~ by foragesf on April 22, 2010.

4 Responses to “More posts….first on the market”

  1. It was awesome…shoulder to shoulder with so many cool people.
    Lots of vendors with great interesting items, I could hardly get around to see and sample them all.
    Hope we’ll do it again next month…thank you Iso for all the planning and heart work going into creating the space for us.

  2. I thought it was a great space, though commercial. Gave the vendors a chance to display their wares better, more room to roam and breathe. As a voluntter helping with the set-up, I was impressed, as usual, with the positive spirit and enthusiasm both the vendors and “buyers” displayed – leaves me feeling very up & empowered. Thanks for putting this together, & I can’t wait to help with future ones!

  3. Keep up the great work!

    Much appreciated,

    Jo Ann

  4. Great post. I don’t know if I could handle hunting. When I’m out in the woods I feel so connected to every other animal. I don’t know if I could eat meat if I had to kill it, but regardless, I agree that knowing the source and being out there certainly brings a new respect to the food. I always liked the idea of the native americans that would thank the animals for dying for them.

Leave a Reply

 
